Sunday, November 29, 2009

Breaking in Blogger; Vampires, MSI, and 2012

Hey everyone. This is the Villain of This Tale, or Charles Pinmissile, or simply Jay. I've decided to open a Blogger account so I'd have some place to rant about things or give updates on my D&D game when there was noone to talk to. If you're here, you probably know me some way, whether it be my Let's Plays on Youtube, you added me on Facebook, or you go to school with me, so I don't think an introduction is necessary, but I'll give one.

I'm Jay, I'm a bit of an oddball. I like NES, Godzilla, Dungeons and Dragons, painting miniatures, and Mountain Dew. I also like working out and cycling. I'm pretty but awkward. I have Asperger's Syndrome but I don't mind it. Anything else you need to know about me, you can read my side column.

SO! ONTO THE RANTING! First off. Vampires. You like Twilight? Get the fuck out. This isn't for you. If a vampire sparkles in the sunlight in your mind, you don't know what a vampire is. A vampire is a zombie that feeds on blood, rather than flesh. They're more humanoid looking than a zombie because a vampire hasn't fully died yet, ergo their organs still work, albeit they're not as important as a human's. This is why a stake to the heart of a vampire will paralyze or even kill the vampire; a vampire can survive it because blood circulates much more slowly, but will still have to be stitched up. But, that's not what this post is about. It's about vampires in sunlight. Halfway through typing this, I realized my answer, but I'll continue. I was discussing how stupid it is for vampires to sparkle in sunlight, but then I realized, why do they burn? In Vampire: The Masquerade, which I consider to be the Bible of all things vampire, vampires get sick during the daytime, and are burned from the sunlight. At first I was like, maybe they just have so little melanin it can kill em, but they wouldn't burst into flames, would they? But, rather than rant more about it, I figured it out; Caine, brother of Abel, is the granddaddy of all vampires. After killing Abel and getting with Lillith, God was like, kay, you're filth, you're a vampire now. You can't come out during the day, you have to live in darkness. Because Caine was cursed as a vampire, any of his kin would in turn have the same curse and not be able to come out in the light. Problem one: solved.

Number two. Mindless Self Indulgence. Let me just say, I think this band is great. I heard about them back when they were underground, back in... 99? I was seven years old then, wow. I used to hear a lot of the underground music from NY because I'm just a short 3 hr drive from there, so it spreads up to CNY, and when you have brothers and sisters like I do you tend to get more culture than you bargain for. Anyways, MSI. Good band. Better band since they've become mainstream, although they toned down from an NC-17 rating to an R rating. I think this is one band that the mainstream actually helped them. Just one thing; kids. Don't take the fucking music seriously. Take for example "2 Hookers and an 8 Ball." It says in the beginning of the live version, "Always talk about drugs, in your songs! Whether you do them or not, the kids LOVE IT!" Take that to heart; just because it's about violence and drugs doesn't mean they condone it. It also says in the song, "Two hookers and an eight ball, can you believe that I write this shit? Two hookers and an eight ball, it ain't that fuckin' hard!" Which leads me into my next point; Music should have effort. A lot of the old MSI had no effort, but it was still good. Why? Because they had an original sound and were passionate; not part of just another cookie cutter scene like all these shitty bands like Brokencyde or Dashboard Confessional are, just trying to market to kids. God damn teenagers are stupid.

Anyways, number three: 2012. Kay, if you believe in the 2012 theory, look back at Y2K. You're retarded to believe it. This, I'm talking about the film. I really enjoyed it. It was shit, but I liked it. Why? Look at the Day After Tomorrow. It was a crappy film about the earth destroying itself. Why is this better? It's the same thing, with better actors, better CGI, and NO CHARACTER DEVLEOPMENT AND LITTLE TO NO PLOT. Seriously. We pay $9.50 a ticket to see wanton destruction for 2.5 hours. We don't care about the plot. Most Godzilla movies you can cut them down to 30 minutes and have a marathon of fights between Godzilla and the other monster. Well, besides the big monster rumbles and Final Wars where it has martial arts for 60 minutes rather than talking. But, I digress. 2012 was almost exactly what I paid to see; the earth destroy itself, in glorious CGI, and nothing more. Although it had three or four plane scenes when one would suffice, and it was too long for my tastes for a simple destruction movie, it was great. I give it a B-. Cut it down to 1.5 hours and remove one plane scene and you get an A-. I can't give it higher than an A- for a movie with no plot or character development, but a movie like this you can't expect more. A- is 90/100 anyways, is it that big a deal?

Anyways, just wanted to get that off my chest. I'll post tomorrow about D&D probably.

No comments:

Post a Comment